What’s Beagaroo

I own a beagleboard (Every embedded-systems enthusiast should own something like it). I have been tinkering with it for some time. I’ve always been fascinated with robots and have build a couple from scratch, not this one though.

To me, the most interesting software is one that interacts with the real world. One example is the current incarnation of Jetsons’ Rosey: Roomba – An awesome robot vacuum cleaner. I decided to use the roomba as a starting point for my project. iRobot have been nice enough to include a serial interface that allows you to control the robot and read its sensors.

Thus, beagaroo was born:

So far, I have my beagleboard connected to my roomba over the Roomba Open Interface. I’ll continue to develop this robot over time. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

